

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 3, 2017

Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Leslie Loew to Receive 2018 Distinguished Service Award

Rockville, MD — The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Leslie Loew, University of Connecticut Health Center, has been named the recipient of the Society's 2018 Distinguished Service Award. Loew will be honored at the Society's 62nd Annual Meeting at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, California, on Monday, February 19, during the Awards Ceremony preceding the National Lecture.

Loew was chosen to receive the award in recognition of his commitment to the Biophysical Society and his untiring service as the Editor-in-Chief of Biophysical Journal, demonstrating sustained dedication to maintaining the Journal's mission, high standards, and scientific integrity. The Distinguish Service Award, established by the Biophysical Society, honors service in the field of biophysics and contributions beyond achievements in research.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2018 Annual Meeting, visit www.biophysics.org.

OFFICERS

President

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect

Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President

Suzanne Scarlata
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

Treasurer

Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Zev Bryant

Jane Clarke
Bertrand Garcia-Moreno
Teresa Giraldez
Ruben Gonzalez, Jr.
Ruth Heidelberger
Robert Nakamoto
Arthur Palmer
Gabriela Popescu
Marina Ramirez-Alvarado
Erin Sheets

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

Joanna Swain

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers

Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

Finance

Kalina Hristova

Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services

Frances Separovic Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Art Palmer

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings

Richard Aldrich